05
Sep
09

#97: Bringing Up Baby

Summer is coming to a close.  That means I’m supposedly no longer allowed to wear white and I’m beginning month four of TRANSITION PERIOD: THE NEVERENDING SAGA.  Yes, it certainly is time for little Brett to move out of mommy and daddy’s house.

As the months pass, I think more and more like the angst-filled, acne scarred, 17 year old version of myself.  I believe I am above this, but certain situations bring me back to these adolescent reactions.

Example: I got into a fight with my mom yesterday because I left the back door ajar while it was raining.  She said because the door was open, she’d have to wipe up the water, which would postpone her plans to start dinner, but she doesn’t want to make dinner because she’s tired of coming up with meal ideas and having me in the house means she has to do more laundry that she just doesn’t have time for because she works a whole two days a week and cleaning people’s teeth is the worst job ever.  I think I’ll go listen to some Green Day and sulk.

bringing up babyActually, I decided to watch a movie instead.  I was actually pumped about seeing Bringing Up Baby (#97), a comedy starring Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn.  I first thought this film was about an actually baby.  It’s not.  David (Grant) plays a scientist who haplessly tries to avoid love struck, brain dead rich girl Susan (Hepburn).  Even on David’s wedding day, Susan finds ways to terrorize him through a number of screwball situations involving a prized dinosaur bone, an escaped leopard (Baby is it’s name, hence the title) and a cast of zany characters.

Baby is the real star of the film.  She seems to pop into the story out of nowhere like all great plot devices do.  Her cute, yet ferocious acting style should have garnered a Best Supporting Actress Oscar.  But the film’s not my type of humor.  It’s pretty much like any bland romantic comedy storyline, but regarded as classic because it features classic movie stars.  Call me a film traitor.  I don’t care.  A movie with this much bad editing and sappy dialogue should have been knocked off the list.

When all is said and done after stupid fights and stupid movies, I don’t have it so bad.  I appreciate wholeheartedly the hospitality my parent’s offer.  Three square meals a day, a warm bed and laundry service free of charge truly helps me out.  But…it’s time to do what any self respecting 23 year old should do after living for four months with his or her parents: get a life.

I’m looking for more temporary employment.  Good ol’ boring 9 to 5, Monday through Friday work.  I just need to do something other than what I’m doing now.  If an exciting, ideal job finds its’ way into my hands, I shall snatch it.  But with employment figures like these (click on that link and see how bad), just having a job would be blessing.

On the domestic side of things, friend Kyle and I are looking for apartments.  We figure any step towards something other than living with our parents is a step in the right direction.  You could call them baby steps.  No pun intended.

Brett Head1 out of 5 Brett Heads

0 Responses to “#97: Bringing Up Baby”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

